Farewell

On Sunday, July 21st, I spoke in church and shared how I prepared for my mission. I spoke for about 20 minutes which is the longest I’ve ever had to speak in church. I tried to convey my core beliefs and share how I thought my preparation for serving a mission applied to everyone’s preparation for life changes and preparation for the Second Coming. I hope I didn’t babble too much.

I then sang one of my most favorite hymns. Come Thy Fount of Every Blessing. It’s not in our hymn book but the lyrics and melody just speak to my soul. It’s one of those things that makes me cry because of its beauty and earnestness. To me, it’s a genuine offering of someone’s heart to God, a plea for strength, love, and grace. I felt like my heart has been in this place for a while as I’ve been preparing for my mission. I need Heavenly Father to help me through not only the next 18 months, but through my life. Oooh, I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about it. The MoTab just knocks it out of the park.

So afterwards we held a fun little shindig and invited the whole ward to come say goodbye to me and enjoy fantastic homemade brownies, ice cream, and fruit. A month ago when my mom and I were talking about my farewell, I told her I didn’t really want to have a party. I didn’t think anyone would come. Well, PEOPLE CAME. Not just any people…people that I had known my whole life, friends from high school, people that babysat me, people that taught me lessons in church, people that probably wiped my tush way back in the day, people that have helped us when we had car trouble, people that we have helped when they had car trouble, people who have taught, helped, and loved my family for the past 25 years. I felt so blessed, so supported, and so loved to be surrounded by these wonderful and faithful friends.

My mom did an amazing job of putting this all together and I’m so grateful that we decided to do it.

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

Leave a Reply

